Lotta Cupcakes

May 18, 2009 § 2 Comments

The Mister started his week of 12+ hour shifts last Friday. Since I have a tendency to “shop” when left to my own accord, I thought I’d do something a little more constructive. I was eye balling a nice Shun 5″ santoku in the new William Sonoma catalog but thought better of it. At least for now.

Anyway, I wanted to make some cupcakes for the Mister to bring to work. Not knowing exactly how many to make, I decided to just make as many as the cupcake courier will hold–36. That would also make it easier for him to transport them.

I asked the Mister what kind of cupcakes he wanted, he said make the simple ones. I didn’t know exactly what simple means so I went with vanilla-vanilla cupcakes and red velvet cupcakes.

I doubled the vanilla cupcakes recipe and the butter cream frosting (I had a good amount of frosting left) and the red velvet recipe made about 21 cupcakes, leaving a few extra for me! Rather than using Sylvia’s cream cheese recipe, I used Chef Carter’s cream cheese recipe because that is my favorite. Personally, I like my red velvet cake with vanilla butter cream. I kept the decorating fairly simple. A few sprinkles on some, a few sunshine Oreo cupcakes, some chocolate frosted and filled ones (using Wilton Tip #230, which was really cool). Here are the cupcakes in the courier.

I thought the red velvet cupcakes looked a bit plain next to the other ones so I decided to add a fresh blueberry on top of each one. It was exactly what they needed and gave me a great idea for 4th of July.  Here’s the courier with the lid on.

Although the Mister said everyone loved the cupcakes, the main attraction was really the cupcake courier.  He got quite a few questions about it and someone wanted to know why I would even have something like this. (Um, can you say “gadget freak?”) hehe. Speaking of gadgets, now where did I put that William Sonoma catalog?

§ 2 Responses to Lotta Cupcakes

  • sawyer says:

    those are some beautiful pics. i def. want an oreo now. and yes that courier is pretty cool haha…where did u even find that?

  • CAB says:

    Thanks Sawyer! Yum, I could go for a couple of Oreos too. I found the courier when I was baking a lot of cupcakes and wanted something to carry them in. There are a few of them out there but this one had the best reviews and it just looked cool. I forgot to mention in the post that it also doubles as a cake courier by removing the cupcake trays. It’s nice but kind of bulky and a little hard to store. But it’s still a neat gadget!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lotta Cupcakes at CAB Cooks.

meta

