Panko-crusted Mahi Mahi

May 26, 2009 § 2 Comments

In my continuous (pitiful) effort to try to get more fish into our diet, I purchased some mahi mahi for dinner a couple of nights ago. I used this recipe for the panko crust and the Sake-to-Me Shoyu sauce. I substituted the tarragon (I had none) with marjoram along with some other minor changes. I also baked it instead of pan searing since I wanted to cook the mahi mahi all the way through.

Ingredients:

  • 12 oz mahi mahi, ~1 inch thick, cut into 2 (6 oz) pieces

For panko mix:

  • 1/2 cup panko
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried marjoram
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

For coating mixture:

  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/16 teaspoon celery salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic 
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced shallot
  • 1/8 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/8 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 1/8 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise

For Sake-to-Me Shoyu Sauce (or in my case, shoyu-the-money soju sauce!):

  • 2 tablespoon shoyu
  • 2 teaspoon soju
  • 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice

In a small bowl, mix all of panko mix ingredients and set aside.

In another small bowl, combine coating mixture ingredients and mix until well combined. Just a note that I crushed the dry rosemary and thyme leaves between my fingers to get a finer texture. I used a microplaner to mince the garlic and shallot.

Using a pastry brush (I used a silicone pastry brush), brush on coating mixture on all sides of the mahi mahi. Coat with the panko mix. Repeat for the other piece of mahi mahi.

Lightly spray the aluminum foil on the hot sheet pan and put the mahi mahi steaks onto the sheet. Bake for 15-20 minutes until the steaks are cooked through and flaky. Try not to overcook the fish.

While the fish is cooking, in a small sauce pan or skillet, combine all sauce ingredients and reduce over low heat until thickened to a sauce consistency.

Plate the mahi mahi and spoon the sauce around the steak. I made some more of the mango & avocado salad to go along with the fish. The crust was crunchy and the mahi mahi was flaky and moist. I think the sauce is what makes this dish shine.  I would have liked more of the sauce (I’ll double it next time) and the coating mixture could have used a pinch of salt. But it was still a very tasty and healthy meal for two.

§ 2 Responses to Panko-crusted Mahi Mahi

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Panko-crusted Mahi Mahi at CAB Cooks.

meta

