Grilled Red Snapper with Grapefruit-Thyme Mojo

May 29, 2009 § Leave a comment

This recipe is from Bobby Flay’s “Light and Fresh” episode of Boy Meets Grill. The only problem I had was trying to make sure the snapper didn’t stick to the grill, always a tough one for me to overcome. But with liberal oiling of the grates and the fillets, I was able to grill it without damaging the fish fillets too much. The snapper was tender and flaky.

I tweaked the Grapefruit-Thyme Mojo recipe a bit to what I had. I didn’t feel like roasting garlic since I didn’t have the time. Thyme I had, time I didn’t. (hehe) I also decided to use pineapple juice instead of OJ. And for good measures, I threw in some chopped mangoes to give it even more tropical flare. The recipe made too much sauce so you might want to half the recipe for serving 2 people.

Mojo ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 grapefruit, juiced
  • 1/4 cup pineapple juice
  • 2 teaspoons grated grapefruit zest
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • 2 tablespoon fresh mango, chopped
  • 2 yellow jalapeno chiles, coarsely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme leaves
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

Combine all of the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

The Mojo turned out really nice. I liked the yellow jalapeno chiles, not as hot as green ones with just a tad of kick to it. I think the mango added a nice slight thickness to the sauce. The sauce alone was really nice but it lost some of its kick once on the fish. Definitely light and I think I would have liked a little more kick to the pairing overall.

It’s a little drizzly today in San Diego but it’s Friday so no complaints from me. Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Grilled Red Snapper with Grapefruit-Thyme Mojo at CAB Cooks.

meta

