Pho Lucky Revisited

July 10, 2009 § 2 Comments

When the weather is hot, it’s hard for me to enjoy a nice steamy bowl of pho.  But it doesn’t mean I can’t have a nice bowl of Bun Thit Nuron Cha Gio (rice vermicelli with BBQ pork and egg rolls).  During one of our many lunch visits with my friend “L” to Pho Lucky, I was in the mood for some Bun Thit Nuron Cha Gio. She had pho but was intrigued by my bowl of bun.

So on our most recent trip, she decided to try it. And since it’s been getting warmer, bun sounded just the right thing for me, too.  Two orders of #48, Bun Thit Nuron Cha Gio!

It was served with the usual nuoc cham (I believe that’s the name of the sweet sauce) and the deep fried rolls were hot and crispy. The BBQ pork was sweet and mostly tender. It didn’t have as much lettuce but a lot more mint leaves on the bottom of all that vermicelli  than usual. The vermicelli had a nice pull, not overcooked and mushy. Adding a bit of the nuoc cham helped loosen up some of the vermicelli clumping. “L” really enjoyed her first bowl of bun as much as I enjoyed my bowl. A great lunch on a very warm day.

On a side note. “L” and I were checking out some of the other tables’ dishes and told ourselves that we would try other dishes over the summer. We were both eyeing a big bowl of what looked like some kind of curry stew at a nearby table. “L” thought it was chicken curry but we’ll verify that the next time we’re there.

Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend.  If you’re a dog lover and looking for something fun to do this weekend, stop by the Wags for Wishes in Chula Vista. The annual event started today and going through Sunday until 5 pm.  Donations go to the Make-A-Wish Foundation® of San Diego.

§ 2 Responses to Pho Lucky Revisited

  • Dennis says:

    Hi Cab Cooks, you know I’m weird that I realized early on I prefer my rice noodles drowned in hot soup. All the toppings look great though!
    I haven’t been in the mood for Pho recently with the heat either..

    • CAB says:

      Hi Dennis! My preference is rice noodles in hot soup, too. There’s only a couple of cold noodle dishes that I like, which really comes in handy on hot days that I crave noodles.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pho Lucky Revisited at CAB Cooks.

meta

