Just Shoot Me and Shoot Me Now

August 10, 2009 § 4 Comments

It’s been 7 days since my last post.  My camera actually has pictures from 3 places I’ve yet to review. I can’t remember what I had for dinner the past 3 nights except that I made some awesome onion-garlic burgers but completely forgot to take pictures.  I can, however, spew out dimensions and capacities of at least 4 different refrigerator models and features of a handful of rangetops and ovens.  I can’t seem to get my brain to think about anything other than the remodel. I feel like I’m in some surreal and twisted spoof of Fight Club where the only way to get rid of that spaz who only talks remodeling is to shoot myself in the head. Well, I’d have to eat the barrel if I want to be completely accurate.

The good news is (if you can really call it news) is that I’m making progress. I have completely voided the Kohler sink and faucets (or any other Kohler products for that matter) from my head and my buy list. No, it wasn’t the price but of what I’ve heard/learned about Kohler’s service and reliability.  I’ll leave it at that.

Having devoted most of the past 3 weeks talking to general contractors, designers, going to showrooms, hearing salespeople’s schpeels, endless hours scouring appliance and remodeling forums, on and on, I actually do have something to show for it.  I’ve nailed down the rangetop, oven, microwave, sinks and faucets, dishwasher, trash compactor, countertop and backsplash.  Whew.  I still have yet to decide on a vent hood (but really close) and refrigerator/freezer. The latter has become my nemesis because I originally chose the top of the line, most expensive refrigerator in its class out there. But with a little soul searching (as the Mister would call it), I’m still keeping my options (and mind) open to what will give me the most usable fridge and freezer space with brand reliability.  Cheaper is a given.  But I’ve so thoroughly inundated myself with information that I am ready to shoot myself in the head. What could be worse? That I don’t get my dream kitchen? Hell, I’ll be dead so I’m sure I wouldn’t give a shit. I suppose I should think about the Mister. It would just create a mess for him. (I swear officer, she was talking about refrigerators one moment and the next, BAM! The back of her head just blew off!)

And on top of everything, we still need to make a final decision on a GC. That, odd as it might seem, is closer to a decision than on a refrigerator/freezer model. Okay, I’m done bitchin’. I think I’m going to take the evening off and watch some mindless (hehe) movies.

Hope everyone enjoyed their weekend!

§ 4 Responses to Just Shoot Me and Shoot Me Now

  • Kirk says:

    Hang in there CAB. It’ll be worth it in the end…so long no blood is shed. ;o)

    • CAB says:

      lol! I know, I keep trying to keep my sight to the end of the tunnel, thinking about the “end” product. Thankfully, the Mister has been a lot more engaged lately and have started to take a bigger interest in some of the appliances. But he’s also eye’ing a possible 55″ flat screen too. 🙂

  • HAHAHAHAHAH “eyeing a possible 55″ flat screen” reminds me of my boyfriend… luckily he got it, cuz food network looks so much better when it’s all blown up

    • CAB says:

      lol! I have a confession. I put the bug about the flat screen in his ear because deep down, I’m the AV dweed. I was kind of hoping for bigger (cuz bigger is better right?) but unfortunately, they don’t make LCDs that big that won’t bust the bank. After all, my appliances have already done that!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Just Shoot Me and Shoot Me Now at CAB Cooks.

meta

