Los Primos Mexican Food

August 28, 2009 § 4 Comments

One place that’s on the lunch rotation for me and my friends from work is Los Primos Mexican Food. Although not the cheapest, it certainly is one of the better fast food Mexican eateries IMHO.  There are 17 locations throughout California, with the majority in San Diego county. The ones I’ve been to are the ones in Mira Mesa, Rancho Bernardo and by 4S Ranch (which I didn’t like much).

Los Primos offers a typical salsa bar with 3 kinds of salsa, one of them being verde, also pickled carrots and chili peppers. L likes the chili peppers and thinks there’s some kind of sugary substance on it. I’ve yet to try one, being a heat wussy and all, but I’ll try it next time.

L ordered her 4 mini carne asada tacos. She really likes these. Good amount of meat with guacamole. You can see a bag of the carrots in the top corner.

C ordered a lone but big bean and cheese burrito. Here’s a shot of the inside. She likes to put the carrots in there. Clever.

I didn’t get my usual order of 2 tamales with beans and rice this time. Instead, I went with 1 tamale and a beef taco. I know. I too like to live dangerously. I think Los Primos makes a very decent beef tamale (assuming they make their own) and is my usual go-to place when I’m in the mood for tamales. The sauce on the tamale was a little runny this time but still had good flavor. The rice was not that good this go around, texture was too mushy for me. Beans were beans. And a shot of the salsa fresca is in the top corner.

Here’s a shot of the beef taco. Sorry you can’t really see the beef but it’s in there and a decent amount too, as well as the cheese, lots of cheese. The beef had so-so flavor but it’s best with lots of salsa! It was okay but I think next time, I’ll just order a la carte and skip the beans and rice altogther since this is always way too much food for me. The Mister likes the Beef Taco.

Another item that I think Los Primos does a good job on are the tostadas (love those). I haven’t tried their Monster Burritos since I’m afraid if I did, I’d suffer from some serious afternoon food coma. I already get full and sleepy on the combos.

Los Primos Mexican Food
Multiple locations throughout San Diego

§ 4 Responses to Los Primos Mexican Food

  • kirbie says:

    There is one of these next to my yoga studio. I’m always wondering how it tastes but haven’t ever tried it. I think I will give it a try soon.

  • CAB says:

    Hi Kirbie! As far as fast food Mexican places go, I think Los Primos offers some good selections. I think the quality varies from location to location, too. Be interested in what you think of it.

  • sawyer says:

    los primos! i used to live by the one in la jolla in the vons plaza. they make a pretty good hamburger there. i like how they sell mexican sodas too.

    • CAB says:

      Hey Sawyer! I know exactly where that one is. I used to live near there when I first move to SD. Never had their hamburgers. If I stop by that one, I’ll try the hamburger.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Los Primos Mexican Food at CAB Cooks.

meta

