Wonton Soup

September 16, 2009 § 2 Comments

There are so many versions of wonton soup out there, just goes to show how versatile these delicious little packets of yummy goodness are. They are the epitome of comfort food for me. Wontons can be filled with anything you want. The most recent batch was to use up some leftover items: 1/4 lb ground pork, chives and some white mushrooms that were just on the verge. Pork chive and mushroom dumplings, can’t go wrong with that, right? I didn’t have any homemade chicken stock on hand and I was out of the store bought kind. But I had some dashi which would just nicely! I can usually get about 14 wontons with 1/4 lb of pork. which is what I like to serve per person if this is to be a meal in itself. You can use a little less filling if you need to stretch it a bit.

Chives were chopped, as well as the mushrooms. Half an egg white to help bind (it’s what Mom used to do so I still do it), a splash of soy sauce and Japanese sesame oil. Mix, mix, mix until everything is well combined. Smell it to make sure it smells “yummy” (Mom said to smell it to make sure it’s seasoned correctly, that’s about the best explanation I can give). I also sliced the remainder of the mushrooms for the broth.

I used prepackaged wonton peels. Put about a scant tablespoon of filling in the center of the wonton peel. I wet the edges of the wonton with water and then fold one corner to the opposite corner, making a triangle. Pressing firmly on all the edges to make sure I have good seals. The next flippy-do (yes, that’s a technical term for wonton making) is kind of hard to explain but it’s like making a tortellini (yeah, that’s only helpful if you’ve ever made tortellinis…hmmm). First put a dab of water on one of the 2 outer points (not the center one that’s 90 degrees). Then take an outer point in each hand with the center point of the triangle pointing down. Bring the two points toward each other, putting the dry tip on top of the one that’s wet and then squeeze together. Here’s a picture of the wontons in the orientation that I just tried to describe. Or you can do what my cousin does, just leave it in the triangle and cook it that way.

I made the broth with the dashi, then I boil the wontons for 4-5 minutes. They’ll float up when they’re ready. I usually cook it for another minute or so once they float up if I’m using a pork filling. And voila, wonton soup in about 20 minutes. I loved the dashi base soup and the wontons were very yummy! Loved the mushroom and chives combo. Well, it’s hard to go wrong with chives in dumplings so this wasn’t really a stretch by any means. This certainly is a good quick meal, especially now that Summer (and its blistering heat) vanished in a blink of an eye.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful week!

§ 2 Responses to Wonton Soup

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wonton Soup at CAB Cooks.

meta

