Kitchen Remodel Update

October 22, 2009 § 2 Comments

I’ve been slowly packing up the kitchen and other areas as we get closer to the demolition start date (Nov. 2!). When I first started packing, all I can think of is “I NEED more boxes and holy crap do I have a lot of shit!” Okay, it was just a small panic attack that lasted, oh, about an hour.  Then my senses came back to me and I started to focus. Okay, Nov. 2, no problem.

Then I get a call from my GC yesterday saying that they can start the outside demo ASAP. What?? Wait…uh…but I have another 1.5 weeks…uh…okay. Dave (my GC) assured me that they won’t disrupt the living space and they’ll also be able to put in the new kitchen windows and finish all the stucco work. He also said the first thing they’ll do is make sure to relocate my satellite dish and not disrupt evening TV.  You laugh but that’s very important because it’s hockey season, ya’ know. I gotta have my hockey games, eh y’hoser!

So I guess the new start date is Oct. 26! At least that will get the windows and new patio door out of the way (they were delivered last week). Hey, it might even shave a couple of days off the project. Maybe…

For the most part, we’re ahead of schedule, which I like. We found the granite that we like, Madura Gold, and now we just have to pick the slabs we want. Once that’s done, we can select our floor tiles and backsplash accents. Once those are done, then the only things left are the drawer/cabinet handles and paint. Whew.

So next week, I’ll be able to post the first pictures of demolition, heeheehee!

Have a great Thursday and weekend, everyone! It’s going to be a beautiful day (and weekend) in San Diego!

§ 2 Responses to Kitchen Remodel Update

  • Dennis says:

    Ah man, I’m so jealous!! I’d be happy if just my current kitchen simply disappears!

    • CAB says:

      Hi Dennis! Boy, this kitchen has been long time coming. I have countless of magazines, books, and brochures from over the years of dreaming about the dream kitchen. I know you’ll get yours one day!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kitchen Remodel Update at CAB Cooks.

meta

