Jersey Mike's Subs

October 26, 2009 § 4 Comments

Cindy, our favorite vet tech at the vet’s office told the Mister about a new sub place in Mira Mesa. She said Jersey Mike’s Subs is very popular in the East coast and she really liked their subs. She also gave the Mister 2 coupons for a free cold sub (per coupon) built Mike’s way so we could try it. With or without the coupon, we were so there!

Jersey Mike’s took over what used to be Togo’s in the complex across from the Edwards Theaters (on the side of Home Depot). I was bummed when Togo’s closed (never understood why Togo’s don’t do well in So. Cal) but I was hopeful that Jersey Mike’s would be just as good.

So this past weekend, the Mister and I headed over to get some subs. The coupon was for a free sub made Mike’s Way, which meant onions, lettuce, tomatoes, vinegar, oil and spices. The Mister decided on The Original Italian on white: provolone, ham, prosciuttini, cappacuolo, salami and pepperoni done Mike’s way. We both added a bag of chips and a fountain drink to our subs for an extra $2.25 each.

According to the Mister, this sub was good. The white bread was fresh and soft but with a bit of chew while the crust was not crumbly or too hard. He noted that there was a decent amount of the various meat and not inundated with lettuce.

Here’s a really crappy shot of the inside, which you can’t really see all the meat. I had meant to take a picture of the cross cut but the Mister was very hungry and I didn’t want to risk losing a finger or two.

The Mister has a propensity to order cold subs but mine is hot subs! So no surprise when I decided not to use the free coupon and order a hot sandwich. Pastrami is my beef of choice but since Jersey Mike’s only served pastrami reubens (I don’t care for sauerkraut), I went with the next best thing, Cheese Steak! All of JM’s cheese steaks are fresh grilled to order! I had a tough time choosing between the Chipotle Cheese Steak and the Big Kahuna Cheese Steak. I finally settled on a regular size Chipotle because I love chipotle and the chipotle mayo just sounded awesome.

It took a while for me to get my hot sub but it’s what I would have expected when fresh grilled. Also it was pretty busy that day at lunch, a constant flow of people in and out. But while I was waiting, I got to see them make my sub on the grill. Cool! I tell ya’ it was worth the wait! The sub was hot and the bread was warm from the grilled cheese steak. When I opened the foil, I nearly fainted from the heavenly smell of the sub.

Okay, I’m no expert on Philly Cheese Steaks but I have to think this one would give any good PCS a run for its money. Speaking of which, how about this for a money shot?

Just look at all that meat, grilled onion, melted cheese! There were some red and green peppers (mostly red, yea!) and that chipotle mayo was awesome! The steak was tender and had good flavor. The bread was the right thickness and had good flavor. As I was eating the sub, the bread started to get softer which made it difficult to hold the sub without everything falling out, but I somehow managed. The Mister took a bite and he said it was really good. I certainly would get this again in a heart beat.

So there you have it. An East coast style sub shop that promised on its delivery for awesome subs. Big thanks and puppy kisses to Cindy for turning us on to Jersey Mike’s Subs!

§ 4 Responses to Jersey Mike's Subs

  • sawyer says:

    hey i’ve seen this place around too. that cheese steak does look good…man it’s been too long since i’ve last had one. what is the big kahuna?

    • CAB says:

      Hey Sawyer! That cheese steak was really good! The Big Kahuna has grilled onions, peppers, mushrooms, jalapeños and extra cheese. The Mister said he wants the Chipotle cheese steak next time so I think I’ll try the Big Kahuna.

  • Gwynn says:

    Love Jersey Mike’s…lot of locations here in Vegas. My favorite is The Big Kahuna. 😉

    • CAB says:

      Hi Gwynn and thanks for stopping by! I am definitely going to try the Big Kahuna next time. I’m hoping to stop by for lunch tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Jersey Mike's Subs at CAB Cooks.

meta

