Crack Seed

November 11, 2009 § 8 Comments

On his last business trip to Honolulu, the Mister mentioned to his colleagues he needed to pick up some crack seed for me. The reactions he got was as if he called me a crack [seed] addict, hehe. When asked what the hell are crack seeds, he wasn’t exactly sure what it was or how to explain it (he does know what it is and just forgot). He did, however, offer to bring some in at their next planning meeting. I said, yeah, that’s if there are some left by then. Wait, did I just admit I am an addict??

For those who don’t know what crack seed is, it’s a term referring to preserved dried fruit. Asian cultures have been making preserved fruit (especially the well-known preserved plums) for a long long time. I grew up eating these.

Typically when we visit Honolulu, I usually get crack seeds from Lin’s Market when we swing by Aloha Stadium Swap Meet. This time, I sent the Mister to Ala Moana to the Crack Seed Center. What I didn’t realize until I started to write this post was that Lin’s now has a store at Ala Moana too. If I had known that, I would have preferred Lin’s over Crack Seed Center. Lin’s run a bit cheaper and I prefer their dried seafood. Of course I’d take CSC’s products anytime, too!

First thing the Mister pulled out of his luggage was my crack seed bag!

 If there was only one crack seed that I could get, it would always be Rock Salt Plum. Those juicy salty-sweet plums makes my mouth water just thinking about it. It was at the top of my list. Other items I got on this trip: rolled ika (cuttlefish), red cuttlefish legs and Tourist Plum (white). Tourist Plum is a bit saltier than Rock Salt Plum and is the dry version of crack seed. I wish now that I would have gotten some Li Hing Mui plums. Sigh, next time.

Crack Seeds!

I love dried cuttlefish, shredded, hot shredded, rolled, cuttlefish legs, yum! I tried to keep the shopping list simple. Here’s a shot of the red cuttlefish legs. These were good in flavor, salty with a hint of sweetness, chewy and at times, a bit hard. One has to be very careful biting into these because sometimes they can be almost rock hard. Wouldn’t want to chip a tooth! Oh yeah, the red dye will also stain your fingers. 

Red Cuttlefish Legs

Many of these items are available at Asian food markets although I haven’t seen cuttlefish legs. If you haven’t tried crack seeds before, depending on the kind you try (footballs, plums, cherries, mango, ginger etc.), some of them are an acquired taste.  I recommend trying the wet version of preserved plums or mango. Li Hing Mui mangos are another favorite of mine.

Hope everyone is having a good week so far. It’s hump day and Veteran’s Day. Thank you to all those who have and current serve this great country of ours!

§ 8 Responses to Crack Seed

  • Sandy says:

    You are so lucky! I haven’t tried too many things from the Crack Seed House, but I love their li hing mui ginger. I’ve tried this from other places, but I like the version at the Crack Seed House best.

    I think I remember seeing Lin’s Market at the Ala Moana mall when I was there in July, but I had eyes only for Crack Seed House.

    • CAB says:

      Hi Sandy! heehee, there’s just something odd with the phrase “Crack Seed House.” I really like the Li Hing Mui ginger but then I like a lot of LHM stuff!

      It’s been over a year since we’ve been to Hawaii and since they are so expensive to mail order, I had to take this opportunity to get some. I think the preserved plums from CSC are a bit meatier than Lin’s. So if I had my dithers, I’d get the crack seed from CSC and the seafood from Lin’s. 🙂

  • Sandy says:

    I have a friend who will be in Hawaii for Thanksgiving, and I’ve already put in my “order” for li hing mui ginger from Crack Seed House. Maybe I’ll have to ask her to get some from Lin’s so I can do a comparison.

  • Kirk says:

    Suddenly I’m craving some lemon peel….

  • kirbie says:

    I never heard of the name “crack seed” for these preserved fruits, but I love them! When I went to visit Hawaii two years ago, I was amazed about the amount of dried fruits and seafood I found at the swap meet.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crack Seed at CAB Cooks.

meta

