Chicken Pie Diner – Revisit

November 28, 2009 § 6 Comments

Chicken Pie Diner is closed.

Hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Are y’all ready for Christmas?? I will be because we’re on track to have a fully functional kitchen before Christmas, yippee!

Just a quick update on one of the places we ate this past week. We’ve been to Chicken Pie Diner before for lunch (you can read about our first visit here). But this was our first dinner here, and this time, I had my camera.

CPD is a local joint that focuses on comfort food, pot pies, meatloaf, burgers, chicken noodle soup just to name a few. You don’t really go to CPD for diet food but then again, most comfort food I know aren’t on the low caloric side, you know what I mean?  I guess you could always just get a salad.

Anyway…on this night, the restaurant was about half full. We were able to get a booth. It’s always fun to flip through the old style jukebox selector (I don’t know what they are called) even though the songs never change on them.

A really nice young lady took our drink orders and then our dinner order. I decided to start off with a vanilla milk shake, yum!

Vanilla Milk Shake

Soon after, my salad with Ranch dressing came. I decided to substitute my cole slaw for salad for an extra 99 cents. Lettuce was fresh and I think the Ranch dressing was the bottle kind.

The Mister had a cup of chicken noodle soup to start but I forgot to take a picture of it. He enjoyed it, nice chunks of white meat and large noodles. Looks very much like homemade. He also wanted the side of cole slaw, which came next. Neither of us were too enamoured with this version because it was just too sweet.

Dinner was easy, we both wanted Fish and Chips ($8.99).

The fish fry was fried perfectly, crusty-crunchy on the outside and tender and flaky on the inside.

The Mister went with the malt vinegar, I went with the tartar sauce. I liked their tartar sauce. Cocktail sauce is also another option.

Simple and very enjoyable dinner. Sometimes that’s all you need.

Chicken Pie Diner
14727 Pomerado Rd. (in the Target shopping center)
Poway, CA 92064
(858) 748-2445
Serving lunch and dinner

§ 6 Responses to Chicken Pie Diner – Revisit

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chicken Pie Diner – Revisit at CAB Cooks.

meta

