Pho Ca Dao & Grill – Rancho Bernardo

December 14, 2009 § 6 Comments

I learned about Pho Ca Dao’s RB opening from Kirk (mmm-yoso) here. I’ve been to the location in Mira Mesa and have had decent bowls of pho there. But when in Mira Mesa, I almost always go to Pho Lucky (you can read about my previous visits here and here). The RB location is closer to home so it was definitely a no brainer to stop by.

We were greeted with smiles and seated at a booth. I liked the feel of the restaurant, like Kirk said, pseudo-tropical, and had a slightly less rushed pace than other pho restaurants. Slightly.

We started with the shrimp and pork spring rolls with the standard dipping sauce. It’s been a while since we’ve had spring rolls and enjoyed these.

I decided to try a Lychee Boba Smoothie and the Mister got some kind of lemonade drink that I can’t remember. I do remember he enjoyed it a lot and thought it was very refreshing. I really enjoyed the lychee boba smoothie. I can see bits of lychee and could really taste it.

         

Our visit was pretty much what Kirk experienced except our broth wasn’t as clear, as you can see below. The broth had a decent flavor, could taste the anise, not very oily. The noodles were cooked the way I liked it, not mushy with some pull. I got the rare steak and tendons (#14?). The Mister had his usual, rare steak and flank (#13?).

Oh yes, and the garnishes. I liked the half limes versus wedges. Not that I put that much lime juice in my broth, just a squeeze.

The service was really efficient and they were really nice! Our water glasses were constantly being filled, to the point where I had to tell 2 different guys I didn’t need anymore fill-ups.

Overall a nice lunch. It certainly is a good choice for us if we don’t feel like trekking all the way to Mira Mesa for pho (hehe, like it’s such a long drive…).

Pho Ca Dao & Grill
11808 Rancho Bernardo Rd, Suite 100-110
San Diego, CA 92128
(858) 451-8820

§ 6 Responses to Pho Ca Dao & Grill – Rancho Bernardo

  • Kirk says:

    Hi CAB – Glad you made it to check out Pho Ca Dao. The folks there are very friendly, aren’t they?

  • Dennis says:

    Hi CAB, I’ve only been to the Rolando location and didn’t know there were two others. I enjoy having tendon very much. They looked pretty generous with it in your bowl! Nice.

    • CAB says:

      Hi Dennis! I completely forgot to mention about the tendon and rare steak. I thought the tendon was very generous and they were very tender and buttery. I think you would have enjoyed it! 🙂

  • kirbie says:

    Ooh, lychee smoothie! I love lychee smoothies that have actual lychee bits. So hard to find. Do you know if the Mira Mesa location serves it too?

    • CAB says:

      Hi Kirbie! I do know they serve boba drinks, just not specifically the lychee one. It’s been a really long time since I’ve been to that location. I imagine that they would offer the same things, no?? Maybe?? Sorry I couldn’t be more helpfu.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pho Ca Dao & Grill – Rancho Bernardo at CAB Cooks.

meta

