Tale of 2 Salsas and Beef Fajita

February 22, 2010 § 4 Comments

This is not sexy Latin dancing. Sorry. But if you’re into tomato-ey or even tomatillo-ey salsas, then this post’s for you. Two very tasty (and maybe a little sexy) salsas chased with beef fajita and a side of guac. For me, I have to have salsa and guacamole with my fajita. Without them, it just doesn’t seem complete or right.

The two salsas.  One made with heirloom cherry tomatoes and one from roasted tomatillos. I just love the color of these. Of course you can use other types of tomatoes. I typically use plum tomatoes for salsa but I gotta say, heirloom tomatoes make a kick-ass salsa!

This all started with me buying lots of heirloom tomatoes lately and the Mister wanting to try tomatillos. The heirloom tomato salsa is uncomplicated but I “wing” the amount of ingredients based on what I have. I think I had about 1/2 lb of tomatoes, which was chopped. I used the juice from half a lime, about 2 tablespoons of chopped red onion, 2 tablespoons of chopped jalapeno (more or less to your heat level), 2 tablespoon of chopped cilantro and a pinch of salt. I mixed everything together, taste and adjust for seasoning. If it’s not spicy enough, I sometimes add teaspoon of chopped jarred jalapeno with a teaspoon of its pickle juice to give it a slight kick.

For the tomatillo salsa, I used Marcela Valladolid’s recipe (here). I picked her version since I had 3 lonely Serrano chilis on my plant outside, waiting to be used. A 1/4 cup of broth is all I needed to get all the ingredients pureed. We loved the way this turned out with the spicy, tangy and slight roasted flavor of everything. I liked the use of the broth to thin it since it added a good depth to the salsa. The Mister enjoyed it very much.

For the fajita, I used about a pound of flank steak, salt and pepper on both side, grilled to medium rare and then sliced against the grain. I minced up 2 chipotle in adobo sauce along with a tablespoon of the adobo sauce and tossed that with a whole sweet onions and a yellow bell pepper, both sliced. Then grilled on a stove top grill pan. Toss together with the sliced meat and ready to serve.

Guacamole is about as simple as it gets. One whole avocado skin and seed removed. Mash flesh with a fork to preferred consistency. Add a tablespoon of chopped red onions, 1 tablespoon of chopped cilantro and juice from half of lime. Leave it chunky or mash it up well, your choice. Maybe a little pinch of salt, depending on taste.

Another way I’ve made guac is to use leftover salsa. Just mix the avocado flesh with some salsa, adding a little bit more lime juice if needed and instant guacamole. This is the way we like our guacamole when not having salsa. Get  best of both worlds.

§ 4 Responses to Tale of 2 Salsas and Beef Fajita

  • Dennis says:

    As I read your guac recipe I could totally taste fresh avocados in my mouth.. so weird! Craving it I just might have to go to Cozymels tomorrow, haha..

  • sawyer says:

    that’s interesting to put in some chicken broth for the tomatillo salsa. i’m always up to learn new salsa recipes, looking for any unique ingredients that might give it a twist…do you have a favorite mango salsa recipe?

  • CAB says:

    Hey Dennis! Yum, Cozymels. I like the way they make their guac, simple with ripe avocados. Delicious.

    Hi Sawyer! There are 2 mango salsa recipes that I like. The first one is a mango avocado salsa. Dice up a very ripe mango and avocad, combined with 1 finely diced jalapeno pepper, juice from lime, about 2 teaspoon of chopped cilantro, and 2 teaspoon of chopped fresh mint leaves. Love the mint leaves in this.

    The other one is 1 diced mango, 1 tablespoon of chopped basil, juice from a lime, finely diced jalapeno pepper. You can dice up some red/orange/yellow peppers if you have some and it’ll add a little bit of crunch to it.

  • sawyer says:

    awesome! thanks so mcuh!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tale of 2 Salsas and Beef Fajita at CAB Cooks.

meta

