Beef and Broccoli (Broccolini)

April 26, 2010 § 2 Comments

Beef and Broccoli is an ABCDE dish that I didn’t care for growing up. Mainly because all the versions that were set in front of me used calabrese variety (blech!). So I never outgrew my dislike for those. I much preferred cauliflower but that’s another post. In our last box of CSA produce, we got a bunch of  what I thought was young broccoli corrected by Mike, it’s actually broccolini. And since I had some beef sirloin that needed to be used, I decided to make some Beef and Broccoli-ni (my grandfather must be smiling down at me right now since this was one of his way of getting eating greens).

I admit, I made this because I wanted to get my greens. Yes, Ye-Ye (grandfather), go right ahead and smile. So in memory of my Ye-Ye, here’s my version of Beef and Broccoli-ni. Oh right. You want to know how I liked it. Actually, it was good. The broccolini had a mild flavor and very tender. The Mister really enjoyed this but then, he likes broccoli (blech!). I guess I can still go blech since this was broccolini, hehe.

Serves 2 people as a single dish

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of boneless beef (flank, sirloin, top round)
  • 4 Tbsp low sodium soy sauce, divided
  • 2 Tbsp Shaoxing wine
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 4 Tbsp Oyster sauce
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp rice vinegar
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 scallions, sliced cross-wise green and white parts
  • 4 C broccolini, stems trimmed, cut into bite sizes (or use broccoli florets)
  • 1/2 C beef stock
  • 1/2 tsp red chili flakes (optional)
  • 2-3 Tbsp cooking oil (I use Canola)

Directions:

Cut the beef with the grain into 1 1/2-inch strips. Then cut each strip against the grain into 1/4-inch thick slices. I like to put the meat in the freezer for about 20 minutes to make cutting a bit easier. In a bowl, combine beef, Shaoxing wine, 1 tablespoon of soy sauce, salt, and cornstarch. Mix well and set aside.

For the sauce:

In another bowl, combine oyster sauce, 3 tablespoon of soy sauce, sesame oil, sugar and chili flakes. Set aside.

Heat wok or a large skillet. Add 1 tablespoon of oil to hot wok. Add beef and its marinade and stir fry until meat loses its pink color, about 2 minutes. Don’t cook the meat until it’s completely brown or else the meat will get tough by the time the dish is complete. Remove from wok and set aside.

Add 1 tablespoon of oil to wok then add garlic and scallions, stir fry for 30 seconds. Add broccolini and stir fry for 1 minute. Lower heat to medium, add beef stock, cover and cook for 2 minutes. The broccolini should be tender with a slight tooth, not mushy.  Add sauce and the beef with its juices back into the wok. Stir fry and combine everything for another 30 seconds or so, until the beef is cooked completely. Serve hot with steamed rice.

§ 2 Responses to Beef and Broccoli (Broccolini)

  • mike says:

    Yum! That looks to me like it might be broccolini, which I love. I really like regular broccoli as well, though – particularly the stems, which I think generally get under-utilized.

    • CAB says:

      Hi Mike! You’re absolutely right! It is broccolini. I had broccoli on the brain because that was what was listed on the content list. For some reason, I just thought it was “young” broccoli. It’s no surprise that I like broccolini since I like kai-lan. I’ll make the correction in my post. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Beef and Broccoli (Broccolini) at CAB Cooks.

meta

