Midweek Update

May 5, 2010 § 5 Comments

Sorry for the lack of posts lately. Crazy busy and not too much interesting in the food corner. Although we did finally break down and purchased a Vita-mix. I’ve been wanting one for a while now and as always the supporter he is, the Mister said I can get one. The conversations went something like this:

Me: Oh, the Vita-mix can puree anything! Just think how quickly we can do our smoothies in the morning!
Him: Uh huh.

Me: (another day, another time) Hey guess what? I can make hot soup in the Vita-mix! Just think of all the different soups I can make with all that organic veggies we’re getting from the CSA! And it would be almost in raw form and we would retain all the nutrients!
Him: Huh.

Me: (yet another day) Wow! Did you know that I can make sorbet and sherbet in the Vita-mix? (never mind that we already own an ice cream maker)
Him: (silence–yeah, this wasn’t a selling point for him)

Me: (yet again) If we had the Vita-mix, you could put your flax seeds WHOLE in your smoothies and it’ll puree that sucker right up! And then I can make all sorts of sauces (like I can’t do that now) and it’ll emulsify my citrus dressing in a flash and and and…….
Him: Interesting.

So that went on for a little while. And like most things, he knows once I set my mind to something, it’ll happen. ha!

I did make hot tomato soup tonight to test the claim. You know I had to. And (drum roll please) it really does work. Really! Thank goodness because if it didn’t, I was sending it back. Whew. Using the hot soup function, I had hot steaming soup after 4.5 minutes whirling and swirling. It wasn’t boiling hot but it was hot. It was basically gazpacho but hot. I’ll have to adjust the flavor more to our liking (I used the recipe in the book that came with the blender) but it’s got potential.

Oh and the smoothies are awesome. Just like the stuff from the smoothie places. Well, most of those places use Vita-mix, so uh, no duh. Tomorrow, blood orange sorbet! Gaw I love my gadgets!

§ 5 Responses to Midweek Update

  • sawyer says:

    please post up a sorbet recipe/trial. i would love to see that. i have a magic bullet…woudl i be able to make a sorbet in that? lol it’s kinda weak though.

    • CAB says:

      Hi Sawyer! I almost bought a Magic Bullet a few months back when I saw it at Costco. Good thing I held out for the “Vita” bullet, hehe.

      I’ll do a post on the sorbet this weekend. I also made a sort-of pineapple snow cone by grinding up a bunch of ice, which looked like shaved ice, and I poured some pineapple juice on it. I think if I mixed the juice with some simple syrup, it probably would have been even closer in taste. It was pretty good!

    • CAB says:

      Hi Sawyer! I almost bought a Magic Bullet a few months back when I saw it at Costco. Good thing I held out for the “Vita” bullet, hehe. It might work in the Bullet, depending on the kind of ice you use.

      I’ll do a post on the sorbet this weekend. I also made a sort-of pineapple snow cone by grinding up a bunch of ice, which looked like shaved ice, and I poured some pineapple juice on it. I think if I mixed the juice with some simple syrup, it probably would have been even closer in taste. It was pretty good!

  • sawyer says:

    lol i just saw the vita mix in consumer reports and it got pretty high ratings! lookin forward to the next post!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Midweek Update at CAB Cooks.

meta

