Blood Orange Grapefruit Sherbet

May 20, 2010 § 9 Comments

I always thought the pronunciation of sherbet was with an extra “r”. Sher-bert. It wasn’t until I was an adult that I realized I was saying it wrong. And I still kind of catch myself wanting to say sherbert sometimes. Since I’ve been going down memory lane lately, I’ll share another childhood story with y’all. Oh stop your moaning and read on.


When we lived in Hawaii Kai, I used to go to the grocery store with my Mom. Not so much as to help her with the food shopping but more so to persuade her to pop in next door to Baskin Robbins so I can get a cone of Orange Sherbert. She would always give in because I was just so damn adorable and it was the only way she could stop my whining.

Anywho, she would ask me if I wanted 2 scoops and I would say, “I want 3 scoops!” I’m sure you can picture me in my green muumuu and slippas, jumping up and down going “no, 3 scoops, 3 scoops!” And like the faithful tired single mom, who often guilted about me being a latch-key kid, said okay. But really, she was more amused by my ability as an 8 year old to chow down 3 gigantic scoops without a blink of an eye. Keep in mind this was back in the time where a scoop was a scoop. Not the itty bitty, 3 licks to get to the center of the tootsie roll, I’m on a diet-keep-it-small-because-we’re-all-obese scoop that we see nowadays. Those scoops were bigger than my fist. And those scoops were 25 cents each! Whoa, I am really dating myself now. OH YEAH? When I was young, candy bars were only 25 cents! How ya like them apples?

Oh sorry, got carried away there. Anyway, guess you get the point. I love my orange sherbet. So with all these blood oranges lying around, and with the days getting warmer, I pulled out the ice cream maker and whipped me up some homemade sherbet!

I’ve never used blood oranges before but figured it would be really good. I also had a couple of pink grapefruit that were reaching the end of their prime so I decided to use them too. I wasn’t sure if some of the grapefruit tartness would come through but I thought it would be a nice balance to the blood oranges.

I used Alton Brown’s Orange Sherbet recipe as the base and used the Vita-mix for all the mixing. (Yes Sawyer, I still owe you a sorbet post, haven’t forgotten.) Just turned it down to 1 when pouring in the milk. I also added a bit more sugar, probably due to the grapefruit juice. Just taste the mixture after adding the milk and decide if it needs more. I think it’ll depend on how acidic the citrus is.

As you can see in the picture, the sherbet was actually pink than orange. Very pretty color. And the flavor was wonderful! I can certainly taste the blood orange and had just a bit of citrus tang that’s probably from the grapefruit. Couldn’t really make out the grapefruit flavor. The Mister, who once proclaimed that he hated sherbet, really enjoyed this. Maybe because he really loves blood oranges but he said it was really refreshing and not like any sherbet he remembered eating.

Interestingly enough, after freezing it overnight, I had expected some crystallizing of the sherbet but there wasn’t any. I don’t know if it’s because I used the Vita-mix, which decreased the amount of air that was mixed in but it held up nicely. I actually still have some in the freezer, well over a week, and it still taste the same as the first day.

Adapted from Alton Brown’s Orange Sherbet recipe

Ingredients:

  • 7 – 10 oz granulated sugar
  • 1  Tbsp finely grated orange zest
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup freshly squeezed blood orange juice (or regular OJ), ~1-2 pounds oranges
  • 1 cup freshly squeezed grapefruit juice, ~1-2 pounds grapefruit
  • 1 Tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups very cold whole milk


Directions:

In the bowl of a food processor or blender, combine all of the ingredients except the milk and process until the sugar is dissolved, approximately 1 minute. Alton’s instructions says to transfer the mixture to a mixing bowl and whisk in the milk. I incorporated the milk in the mixer on low speed. Made it a whole lot simpler.

Pour mixture into a bowl, cover and place in the refrigerator until the mixture reaches 40 degrees F or below, approximately 1 hour.

Pour the mixture into an ice cream maker and following the maker’s instructions, process until it is the consistency of soft serve ice cream. On mine, it took about 25 minutes. Although it can be served right out of the ice cream maker, I find that it’s best to place it in freezer until firm, approximately 3 hours depending your freezer.

Here’s another shot of the sherbet. Oh yeah, these scoops were 1 oz scoops, not those gigantic scoops from my youth. So my scoops have gotten smaller and I’ve gotten larger. So goes life. Enjoy it!

§ 9 Responses to Blood Orange Grapefruit Sherbet

  • Tes says:

    It looks so refreshing and delicious, I can’t wait to try it.

    • CAB says:

      Thanks Tes! We really enjoy this one. And the best part is that it can be changed to more sour, tart, sweet to a particular taste. Hope you had a great trip to Bangkok with the family.

  • Kirbie says:

    Wait, what? I’ve been pronouncing it wrong all this time? OMG…On another note, your sherbet looks yummy!

    • CAB says:

      Thanks Kirbie! Sherbet is technically the correct spelling but sherbert is acceptable at least in Webster but not Oxford. When all said and done, I’ll just call it yummy!

  • sawyer says:

    lol this post is awesome…making me really wnat to buy an ice cream maker now. where can one get blood oranges?

    • CAB says:

      Hey Sawyer! “Bang!”– you said lol. hehe. You can usually find blood oranges at farmer’s markets and sometimes stores like Henry’s, Jimbos, and Whole Foods. I don’t recall if I’ve seen them at Albertson’s or the likes. But if you like oranges, you should try them if you see them. They are pretty darn good.

      Ice cream makers aren’t that expensive and come in a variety of sizes. Comes in handy if you want to make organic ice cream.

  • Joanna Benz says:

    Very interesting post. But I am wondering, exactly what is the purpose of the ice cream maker? Is it to add more air?

    Can’t you just freeze the contents from the Vitamix machine to get sherbet?

    I am mainly trying to figure out how to duplicate the Baskin Robbins recipe for orange sherbet.

    • CAB says:

      Hi Joanna and thanks for stopping by. I’m no expert at making ice cream or sherbet but from what I understand, an ice cream maker helps break up the ice crystals that form while the mixture begins to freeze, which results in a creamier and smoother frozen treat. You can certainly do it without a machine but unless the larger ice crystals are broken up by hand throughout the freezing process, the results will probably not be like BR’s smooth sherbet.

      I would recommend if going straight from the Vita-mix to freezer that all ingredients be very very cold before processing. Certainly worth giving it try.

  • Joanna Benz says:

    Thanks for the explanation. It was very helpful!

    Joanna

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blood Orange Grapefruit Sherbet at CAB Cooks.

meta

