Ribs with You Lika Da Sauce (YLDS)

June 1, 2010 § Leave a comment

This is the follow-up to the “You Lika Da Sauce” (YLDS) post (found here). What can I say, the sauce is good. We lika da sauce, at least on baby back ribs. By itself, I thought it was maybe missing something. But it was another thing mopped on the ribs grilled over the flames. The grilling seemed to mellowed out the vinegar as well as carmelized all the flavors even more. The combination of the tang and the slight sweetness with just a touch of spice left my lips tingling.

Didn’t do anything special with the ribs. Did a simple dry rub of kosher salt, onion powder and garlic powder. Then threw them on the gas grill with offset heat (i.e., ribs were not directly over flames) for 30 minutes (15 minutes on each side). Then I put a generous coat of YLDS on one side, cooked for 15 minutes, turned it over, and put on a coat on that side and cooked for another 15 minutes.  This went on until the ribs were done. I forget how long the exact time was, probably 2 hours total. Then I turned on the rotisserie burner and gave each side of the ribs a nice browning to get a crust on both sides. If you don’t have this feature, throw the ribs over open flames for a few minutes on each side, taking care not to burn them. And you should have something like these.

The ribs were not fall off the bone but was tender, juicy and had a bit of pull, which I enjoy in ribs. I served extra sauce on the side for me but not the Mister loved it just the way it was. These were so good. I saved about half of the sauce, reduced even further on the stove (about another 15-20 minutes) intensified the flavors, kind of what the grilling did, made for a great dipping sauce on the side.

Only bad thing about this is that I’m not sure if I want to mess with the recipe anymore. But I think what I’ll try next is use this recipe to make different kind of other BBQ sauces, maybe a Pineapple BBQ sauce. Heck, I have all summer to play with it!

Hope everyone had a good holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ribs with You Lika Da Sauce (YLDS) at CAB Cooks.

meta

