The Winner Is…

August 18, 2010 § 4 Comments

Congratulations to Sawyer for winning the $60 gift certificate giveaway sponsored by CSN Stores

Originally the Mister was to help with randomly selecting the winner but Cole decided he would be the one, not his daddy. I had all the names on triple-folded slips in a hat. He came charging over and stuck his head in the hat and looked up at me with that wily smile of his. I knew he had to be the one to pick the winner. After performing his newly found duty, he decided to re-energize on the futon in my office. After all, the pressure of being the official winner picker does take its toll on a little fella.

Since I started the giveaway with smoked pulled pork, I’ll end with it. When I mentioned the amount of pulled pork I made to a friend (who happened to be on the receiving end of a couple of pounds herself), she asked me how the two of us will eat all that pork. Well, here’s one example.

I decided to make pulled pork tacos with salsa fresca (or Pico de Gallo). I fried corn tortillas in vegetable oil, which we enjoy a lot. That takes a bit of time and I still haven’t found the sweet spot oil temperature but the shells turned out pretty good. The salsa fresca is easy to throw together: diced Roma tomatoes, chopped onions (I used sweet onions this time but sometimes I use red onion), chopped cilantro, lime juice, diced Serrano chili, and a small pinch of salt. I also made a side of guacamole using some of the salsa fresca. I didn’t do anything to the pulled pork other than just heating it. But next time I think I like to add some chipotle pepper in adobo sauce to it to really give it a nice kick.

§ 4 Responses to The Winner Is…

  • sawyer says:

    wow thanks cab, i’ve never won anything before! those tacos look great although i agree with you that they do need some heat =) please give cole a pat on the head and a scratch behind the ears for me!

  • leanne says:

    We love pulled pork… if you cook it without a prominent sauce, you can do so much with it! I throw it on top of eggs for breakfast, Travis turns it into bbq sandwiches, I’ve thrown it into a pot of chili, used it for fried rice, and just eaten it over rice.

    If you’re looking for a tasty non-bbq sauce, I’ve been improvising on Momofuku’s green scallion sauce. Slice some green onions, grate some ginger, add a dash of soy sauce, rice vinegar, salt and some grapeseed oil (olive oil is too flavorful). It’s the best thing I’ve ever put on anything.

    • CAB says:

      Thanks Leanne! Putting it in chili would be awesome and would certainly give it another dimension. I’ve got that on the menu for this weekend so I’ll be adding some of the leftovers to it. Great ideas.

      I like the green scallion sauce. That would go wonderful on salad, too. I have Momofuku’s cookbook at the top of my Amazon wish list. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Winner Is… at CAB Cooks.

meta

