Brigantine – Coronado

October 30, 2010 § Leave a comment

A few months back, I had some free time and decided to drive down to Coronado to meet the Mister for lunch. Our first restaurant of choice was closed for lunch. The Mister didn’t realize they were open for lunch only on weekends. Our second choice was packed (it was still tourist season) and we didn’t want to wait. I was starting to get really hungry and threatened to chew off the Mister’s arm if he didn’t pick another place and soon. We settled on Brigantine since I didn’t feel like driving around too much. The Mister has been to this location a few times but a first for me. We’ve been to the one in Poway and Del Mar. This location had similar dark decor but the booths seemed a bit tighter than the other locations.

Our very nice waitress took our drink order and went over the menu with us. We perused the lunch menu a bit even though my stomach had started to protest loudly. Typically I would have ordered the fish and chips but decided to go with the fried catfish and oysters. I was mostly interested in the catfish but I should have just stuck with my first choice. I chose the rice pilaf and the bacon blue cheese potato salad as my sides. I really enjoyed the tender catfish, even though the fried batter was a bit thick and on the oily side. The fried oysters, however, was a huge disappointment. The batter was also thick and oily, but in this case making the fishiness of the oysters all the more pungent. I’ve come to realize that I prefer my oysters raw although I do enjoy an occasional smoked oysters on crackers. The rice pilaf was nothing exciting and lacked flavor. The potato salad was almost inedible for me. The blue cheese was too overpowering and the flavors just wasn’t working.

The Mister had better luck with his meal. He ordered a blackened mahi mahi that came with rice pilaf and veggies. The mahi mahi was fresh although a bit overcooked for my taste but he liked it. I liked the seasoning on it.

This experience is typical of our visits to Brigantine. The Mister usually enjoys his meal more than I. Never my first choice for a sit-down meal and I much prefer to sit in the bar and order appetizers. But I still go when the Mister wants to.

Brigantine Coronado (with other locations thru-out San Diego)
1333 Orange Avenue
Coronado, CA 92118
619-435-4166
LUNCH Mon-Sat 11:30am-2:30pm
DINNER  Sun 4:30–9pm, Mon–Thurs 5–9pm, Fri-Sat 5–9:30pm

Brigantine Seafood Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Brigantine – Coronado at CAB Cooks.

meta

