Barbeque Meatloaf and Mashed Sweet Potato

November 3, 2010 § 4 Comments

In our household, there are a few dishes that the Mister is in charge of. Meatloaf has always been one of them. But when he came home from a business trip recently, he told me he wanted a home-cooked meal and that he wanted meatloaf. Hmm, okay. I’ve watched him make meatloaf before but it’s been years since I’ve made one. He said he didn’t care what version I made so I decided to take the opportunity to try a new recipe. I’m not exactly sure what made me pick Paula Deen’s Barbeque Meatloaf. Maybe it was because I had everything on hand and I wanted to try her simple bbq sauce. I followed her recipe almost to the t with the exception that I used Italian bread crumbs instead of fresh bread crumbs. 

When combining all the ingredients to the meat, I folded the meat over onto itself and pushed down gently repeatedly until everything was incorporated. The Mister’s technique is to squeeze everything together. I don’t think my method made the meatloaf any more tender than his.

The Mister always makes garlic mashed potatoes (which are awesome) whenever he makes meatloaf. He can’t eat meatloaf without mashed potatoes. Personally I can’t eat meatloaf without ketchup. Anyway, I had some sweet potatoes and decided to test a mashed sweet potato recipe from Cook’s Country that I had flagged for Thanksgiving dinner this year (recipe below). Better to make it ahead of time rather than having my guests as guinea pigs. Turned out a winner! And it was incredibly easy.

The meatloaf was very tasty although I didn’t think the bbq sauce added anything to it. It was a very plain and basic bbq sauce and I think I’d rather just have ketchup on top. How did it compare with the Mister’s meatloaf? It was comparable but considering that the ingredients were pretty similar, I’d had expected as much. He enjoyed it, even as leftovers. Shoot, there was enough for at least 3 more meals for both of us. I would certainly make it again.

I was debating whether to include the picture of the meatloaf with this post because I couldn’t seem to get an appetizing photo of the meatloaf. So many times in the past I’ve forgotten to take pictures so I figured what the hey. At least you can see the mashed sweet potatoes.

Paula Deen’s Barbeque Meatloaf

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds ground beef
  • 1 cup fresh bread crumbs
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 (8-ounce) cans tomato sauce
  • 3 tablespoons vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 cup water, to thin sauce if necessary

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Mix together the beef, bread crumbs, onion, egg, salt, pepper, and 1/2 cup of the tomato sauce. Form this mixture into a loaf and place it in a shallow pan. Stir together the remaining tomato sauce, vinegar, sugar, mustard, Worcestershire and the water (if too thick). Pour this sauce over the meatloaf. Bake for 1 hour, basting every 15 minutes with the pan juices.

  

Mashed Sweet Potatoes (from Cook’s Country)

Serves 4 to 6 (but more like 4). The recipe can be doubled but the cooking time will need to be doubled.

Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter , cut into 4 pieces
  • 3 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 2 pounds sweet potatoes, peeled, quartered lengthwise, and cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices

Directions:
Combine butter, 2 tablespoons cream, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper, sugar, and sweet potatoes in large saucepan. Cook, covered, over low heat until potatoes are fall-apart tender, 35 to 40 minutes.

Off heat, add remaining tablespoon cream and mash sweet potatoes with potato masher. Serve.

§ 4 Responses to Barbeque Meatloaf and Mashed Sweet Potato

  • Dennis says:

    Two words. COMFORT.. FOOD… 😉
    This looks great. I never was a fan of the type with ketchup baked on top.

  • CAB says:

    Hi Dennis! Totally comfort food! I don’t mind so much with ketchup or some kind of sauce on top since it’s suppose to help keep the loaf moist. But I still prefer my ketchup on the side.

  • Cathy says:

    I’ve never made the same meatloaf twice, Many reasons, mostly because I substitute ingredients. The BBQ sauce recipe sounds good…and so do mashed sweet potatoes. Those sound good just as ..a meal.

    • CAB says:

      Hi Cathy! The Mister usually changes up his meatloaf too based on what we have. A little of this, maybe a little of that. You should try the mashed sweet potatoes, I think you’ll like them.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Barbeque Meatloaf and Mashed Sweet Potato at CAB Cooks.

meta

