Grilled Pork Tenderloin

December 2, 2010 § 2 Comments

Can you believe there’s only 23 more days until Christmas? Thanksgiving is over and I’ve started my holiday baking. Have my first package of holiday cookies ready to send out. Only a half dozen more to go. Anyway, hope everyone has had a chance to think about Christmas presents. Luckily this year I started a little early and we’ve all decided to go light on the gifts. But that usually means I do more baking and cooking to make up for it. Oh well, on to the topic at hand.

During one of our grocery shopping trips a while back, the Mister picked up a pork tenderloin and said, “Hey, how about cooking this up?” Okay, sure. I said that but didn’t know how I would “cook it up” at the time. But I’ve had Alton Brown’s pork tenderloin recipe marked for over a year now and have yet to try it. Now was the time. 

After reading some of the reviews, I adjusted the recipe by adding more chipotle pepper to a total of 4. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe. It turned out to be a decent amount for us although the heat from the chiles was not as prominent as I would have expected. I might try adding a bit more the next time. I marinaded the tenderloin for 6 hours. Fired up that chimney starter and got to work.

I decided to turn the tenderloin every 1.5 minutes because for some reason only known to my subconscious, I thought it would keep the tenderloin from drying out. Admittedly, I was nervous about overcooking a rather large piece of meat. Pork tenderloin is very lean, leaner than chicken as a matter of fact. So the recommended way of cooking this lean hunk of meat is high and fast. That’s where charcoal (lump charcoal in my case) comes in. The total cook time took longer than the 15 minutes the recipe stated. It actually took about 20 minutes for meat to reach 140 degrees F. Maybe turning at every 2 minutes would have shortened the cooking time, I don’t know. Here’s what it looked like after resting in the foil pack. Yummmm.

The meat was very moist (whew) and I think the 10 minute rest with the remaining marinade really helped boost the flavor. I don’t know if you can tell how moist the meat was in the picture below but it was nice. I served it along with some baby greens from the garden with some heirloom cherry tomatoes.

Although the pork had nice flavor, I kind of wished I made more of the marinade for reduction to serve along side of it. Mental note for next time.

Hope everyone is having a good week!

§ 2 Responses to Grilled Pork Tenderloin

  • Mike says:

    Looks great! I really like pork tenderloin – I think it is an underrated cut. It is relatively inexpensive, flavorful, cooks quickly and stays moist.

    • CAB says:

      Thanks Mike! I really like the fact that it cooked so quickly and stayed moist. Good thing because the Mister really likes pork tenderloin too and has asked for it again.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Grilled Pork Tenderloin at CAB Cooks.

meta

