Garlic Spinach with Tamari

April 10, 2011 § 2 Comments

For spinach as a side dish, the simpler the better for me. Lots of garlic sauteed in some olive oil, a sprinkle of salt, done. But a few days ago, I decided to use low sodium Tamari sauce instead of salt and woo boy, it was even better! I actually learned this little trick from Nadia G. of Bitchin’ Kitchen and her awesome spicy sauteed asparagus with tamari recipe. Sorry I forgot to take pictures of the asparagus dish since we were running late that evening and blah blah blah. But I’ll save it for another post the next time I make it cuz it’s really really good (my new favorite way of eating asparagus). But I digress.

I thought since the asparagus was so good, why don’t I do the same thing with the spinach! It was delicious and so easy. Here’s what you do. Take a bunch fresh spinach, washed of course. You can use baby spinach if you like. In a wok or a large skillet, heat about 1-2 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil on medium heat. Finely chop 2 cloves of garlic and add to oil.

If you like it spicy, add a pinch of crushed red chili pepper. Cook garlic (and red chili pepper) for 2 minutes. Then add the spinach and 1 tablespoon of low sodium Tamari sauce, cook for about 2-3 minutes until the spinach has wilted down. Serve hot. That’s it! Easy but yet so delicious.

It’s a good think I ate my spinach since I needed my energy to (finally) build my raised garden bed this weekend. It’s a modest sized bed, 5′ x 4′ x 1′. Once I get all the plants into the soil, the Mister wil install the drip irrigation for me (that’s what that hose sticking up on the right is for).

 So far I only have some cherry tomato plants I got on sale from Home Depot but I dug out my old heating mat and got my Burpee seeds in the mail last week. I’m going to start some veggies indoors as well. The dogs were nosing around the bed since there’s a good amount of manure in there. Gad, I hope none of them rolls around in it. Yuck.

§ 2 Responses to Garlic Spinach with Tamari

  • Sherry says:

    Your raised bed looks fantastic, Carol! I’m sure you’re going to have great fun in that garden. Perhaps you’ll grow more spinach – which sounded super tasty with the garlic and tamari. 🙂

    • CAB says:

      Thanks Sherry! Your veggie bed was the real inspiration to finally get this built. I’ve been talking about it for a couple of years but we finally got it built. Funny thing is that the Mister is now thinking of a way to build another one somewhere. I don’t know where but he’s thinking about it.

      I haven’t been very successful growing leafy greens but I do want to try growing some spinach. The bed is almost full now: carrots, beets, snap peas, sugar peas, eggplant, cucumber, several tomato and hot chili plants, sage (for sausages!), thyme, mint, basil. Hmm, I think that covers it for now.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Garlic Spinach with Tamari at CAB Cooks.

meta

