Weekend Update

May 16, 2011 § 20 Comments

I haven’t done a weekend update in quite a long time but this past weekend deserves one for sure.  I met up with some friends for lunch, one of which is our very own Canine Cologne of Pink Candles at Ridgemont High. We started the day at Alforon. Kirk has posted on it here, here and here. But since they were still closed when we got there, we decided to pop over to Vine Fresh. Cathy has posted on it many times. Just do a site search and it’ll list all the posts.

My friend C, being the gracious hostess, walked us down each aisle, pointing out different foods, giving us some background on how some of the freshly baked goods are made and various other good-to-know for us first time shoppers. We didn’t buy a lot of baked goods since we were saving our appetites for Alforon. But we couldn’t pass up picking up just a couple since they all looked so damn good. Here are the mushroom and chicken meat pie and the sweet cheese bread (?) that I got. I liked the meat pie better, especially the mushrooms.

I also picked up a couple of olives for the Mister to sample. Check out the crazy prices on these. The Mister liked the garlic stuffed one (right) more than the dried olives (left). He requested a couple more different ones to try the next time I’m there. (Noted)

CC took way more pictures than I did at Vine Ripe. Uh, correction, I didn’t take any pictures at Vine Ripe so you’ll have read CC’s post (here) to see all the great pictures from that day or read some of Cathy’s of mmm-yoso to see all the cool things there.

After our wonderful lunch at Alforon (post to come), we drove over to the San Diego Blogger Bake Sale in PB for dessert. I was really excited to go since I wanted to meet some of the food bloggers that I follow as well as buy some wonderful baked goods. There were so many delicious looking items to choose from and in the end, I ended up getting more than I had originally planned but it was for a good cause. Without any particular order, here are the items I got.

On the left, a lemon Whipping Cream Pound Cake by Kathy of Panini Happy because I love pound cake. On the right, Coconut Cupcake with Toasted Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting by Amy of Do You Know the Muffin Pan. I chose this because the Mister loves coconut cupcakes. It was delicious!

 

On left, Chocolate Chip Cookies by Dan (aka Mr. Meandering Eats). Marie of Meandering Eats (aka, da Missus) organized this whole event. Who doesn’t love chocolate chip cookies? Right, and my favorite, Mango Buttercake with Macadamia Nuts and Cream Cheese Frosting by Jenny Williams of Jenny Wenny Cakes (check out Jenny’s blog here).

Top right is a Blueberry Tart by Kelly of Sass & Verocity. (Thanks CC for clarifying that!). Bottom right is some very yummy and addictive Peanut Brittle by Rachel of bakerita.com.

I got this vegan Chocolate Pecan Bar for the Mister, made by Stephanie of Recipe Renovator. He loved it!

Last but certainly not least, Reese’s Stuffed Peanut Butter Cookies with Chocolate Drizzle,by Mary of Foodies: The SoCal Food Blog (The Plain Jane). Perfect cookie for any Reese’s lover, like me.

Whoa, hold on there! That’s not all the goodies I got from that day. Both CC and Cathy brought goodies. I felt really bad because I didn’t bring anything except my wit and charm. Sigh…

What a loot! CC gave some suggestion for using the Mama Srta’s packs. And if there was any indication on just how big hearted CC is, look at that bar of Coffee Crisp. She shared her stash of Coffee Crisp with us. I don’t know if I could have been so generous because I love my Coffee Crisp. Although the Mister did ask if I would share it with him since he hasn’t had one since his teens. Okay, I’ll share. (I’m eating the Ube cake as I’m typing this post, yummmm.) Those are some delicious blood oranges from C’s yard, which the Mister has already staked his claim.

What a weekend! Thank you ladies for such a wonderful time and the gifts. We gotta do it again soon. As a matter of fact, I suggested doing a BBQ crawl since we are coming up to BBQ season. And I’m dying to know if the rumor that there is no good BBQ in SD is really true. I know Leanne is in (who I met at the bake sale and is even prettier in person). Cathy, CC and me. So who else? Maybe Dennis? Kirk? Anyone else?

§ 20 Responses to Weekend Update

  • Glad you liked the peanut brittle!
    So nice to meet you this weekend!!

  • kirbie says:

    Hi Carol! Looks like you had a lot of fun this weekend! And you picked up so many baked goods! I was really tempted to send someone over to buy me a bunch of things since I was out of town on Saturday. The BBQ crawl sounds like a lot of fun. I’d definitely be interested!

    • CAB says:

      Hi Kirbie! We were sad that you weren’t at the bake sale. Kirbie. BBQ crawl. Check. Awesome! I’ll send out an email to everyone interested once I figure who, then where and when.

  • leanne says:

    Aww… you’re so sweet! It was so much fun finally meeting you!

    I know there is a lot of medoicre bbq in San Diego, but I refuse to believe there is no GOOD bbq to be found. We’ll just have to do some research and find some hole-in-the-wall spots.

    • CAB says:

      Hi Leanne! I realized just this morning I didn’t buy what you baked. It wasn’t until I read Marie’s comment on her blog that I realized you made the tiramisu. Ugh!

      You’ll have to help me with the list of places. I have a list of 10 so far. Smokin’ Joe BBQ is gone so the one in Carmel Mtn is now BBQ Republic (haven’t been there). I think they consider themselves “So Cal” BBQ. The location on Euclid is now Jones Brothers Mississippi BBQ. Coops is Texas Style BBQ. There a couple I didn’t put on the list since one most people have alreaddy done and one (which you and I have been to) was not very good. Hopefully we’ll find a KC and Carolina style places to the list.

  • hi carol – i had such a blast with you and c!!!!!

    you’re right – there were so many goodies that day – i was going nuts trying to figure out which ones i wanted. the only bloggerfriend i didn’t get anything from was jenny since i’ve had her cupcakes many times before (sorry j if you’re reading this). i wanted to try the other gals’ stuff. btw, the tart is by kelly of the blog sass and veracity.

    re: bbq places: i haven’t tried these yet, but what about barnes bbq in lemon and coop’s (forgot where it is) and also huffman’s off imperial? these are in the hood. plus more soul food – annie belle’s, bonnie jean’s and sister peewee’s.

    • CAB says:

      Hey CC! Thanks for letting me know it was Kelly (updated post to reflect).

      As far as BBQ places, I have a list of 20 so far for us to choose from but the list covers all of SD, from Chula Vista all the way up to Oceanside. I think we’ll need to come up with some kind of plan as to how to choose and where. Most places are closed on Mondays but there is one place that’s closed on Sundays (near business park). So it looks like we’ll have plenty of places to choose from.

  • jenny says:

    It was nice to meet you very briefly! I’m so glad you liked my cupcakes! I’ve put you on my blogreader, so many new blogs and new friends from this weekend. I dont eat meat, so a BBQ crawl might not be my thing, but I’d be up for anything else you might have planned!

  • sawyer says:

    the prices for those olives are bananas….wish they had something that cheap over here (maybe they do and i’m just not looking hard enough?)

    hope you’ve been doing well, and YES please do the bbq crawl…looking forward to reading about it very much =)

    • CAB says:

      Hey Sawyer! Hope everything is going well with you. It’s not just the crazy prices of the olives but so many of Vine Ripe’s items are ridiculously low too! I haven’t seen those prices at any other places in SD.

      I wish you were here to do the BBQ crawl with us.

  • kellypea says:

    Impressive! I need to get out more. I can’t believe you fit all of that into one day AND bought as much as you did from our sale. Thanks for that, and for mentioning my tart. Credit to CC 🙂 which I appreciate. I was so lazy with my cards. Tsk, tsk.

  • Dennis says:

    Wow seemed like a really fun day Carol! And I need to check out Vine Ripe one of these days.
    As for BBQ it’s a bit far but I’m really curious in trying Fat Ivor’s that Cathy posted about last month!

    • CAB says:

      Hi Dennis! Yes, you should definitely stop Vine Ripe. It’s really cool. Fat Ivor’s on the list to choose from (20 so far). I’ll send out the list early next week to everyone.

  • Cathy says:

    Pretty photographs. Good post. I am sooo lazy.

    Bekkers West Coast BarBQue on Lake Murray in La Mesa…

    Fat Ivors has allyoucaneat beef ribs. Smoky and good…then down the road is Smokey’s Lake Wohlford Cafe, which has allyoucaneat catfish…

  • Amy @DYKTMP? says:

    SO glad you and the mister liked the cupcakes! I had such a fun time at the bake sale!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekend Update at CAB Cooks.

meta

