Pork Chops with Onion and Apples

June 2, 2011 § Leave a comment

This recipe is a take on Rachel Ray’s Potted Pork Tenderloin, which I posted on a while back (read it here). Since I’m a meat on bone kind of person, I like pork chops bone-in more than tenderloin. I just think the meat has more flavor with bone on. I’ve simplified the recipe but the flavor is still there and it’s still a one-pan dish. Next to the Mister’s fried pork chops, this is my second favorite way of eating pork chops.

For seasoning, I used salt and black pepper but I also sprinkled on a bit of Essence, which I keep on hand in a little shaker bottle. If you don’t want to make a whole batch of Essence, just sprinkle a small pinch each of paprika, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne pepper, dried oregano and dried thyme one both sides of the chops.  As far as the type of apples, use what ever kind you have on hand. Golden and Red Delicious have a tendency to cook faster and become mushy than most other apples. I’ve used the following apples with good results: Pink Ladies, Macintosh, Gala, Granny Smith and Braeburn. Like I said, whatever I have in the fridge (or cheapest that the store).

I make about 2 chops per person although I usually only eat one if the chops are thick. I recommend using chops that are about 1 inch in thickness but thinner chops can also be used. If using thinner chops, I recommend browning the chops on both side and then removing immediately, Then cook the apples and onions for the full 5 minutes before adding the chops back in and cooking for another 2 minutes, covered.

Since I’m modifying many of the recipes to fit the Paleo diet as much as I can, I’ve been thinking about the best way to provide a standard and a Paleo recipe. So what I’ve come up with is posting the standard recipe and include Paleo substitutions within parentheses in red text next to the applicable ingredient. That way y’all can see both ingredients. 

Serves 2-3 people

Paleo diet ingredient substitution in red.

Ingredients:

  • 4 1-inch pork chops with bone-in (can also used boneless)
  • 1 medium sweet onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 apple, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 2 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil (ghee)
  • 1 tablespoon all purpose flour (almond meal)
  • 1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth
  • 2 fresh Sage leaves, finely chopped (or 1/4 teaspoon dried Sage)
  • Essence, for seasoning pork chops
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Directions:

Take pork chops out of the refrigerator about 15 minutes before cooking. Sprinkle Essence on both sides of the pork chops and set aside. 

In a large cast iron pan or heavy bottom pan, heat oil (ghee) on medium heat. Add pork chops and brown both sides, about 5 minutes on each side. They should be nicely browned. Remove to plate and set aside.

Add remaining tablespoon of oil (ghee) to pan. Still using medium heat, add onions and cook for 3 minutes. Add apples and cook for another 2 minutes. Add flour (almond meal) and broth, stir and cook for about a minute. Taste here for seasoning. Adjust with salt and black pepper as needed. Continue cooking until the liquid begins to bubble around the edge of the pan and starts coming to a boil, add the pork chops back in. Sprinkle sage over chops. Cover and reduce heat, continue cooking until the pork chops reach 155 degrees F near the bone. I don’t have a lid for my cast iron pan so I use the dome lid from my wok, which fits just about right. If you don’t have a lid that will fit over your pan, remove the pan from the heat, carefully cover the top with some aluminum foil and then put the pan back on the heat to continue cooking. It doesn’t have to be air tight. Just cover to help cook through the chops.

Serve hot with some of the onions and apples. Drizzle some of the pan juices over everything.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pork Chops with Onion and Apples at CAB Cooks.

meta

