Sundried Tomato Cafe (Laguna Beach)

August 6, 2012 § Leave a comment

We took a short little weekend trip up to Dana Point to visit my sister-in-law and needless to say, we kind of stuffed ourselves all weekend long.  Aaaahhh, good times! We got there for a late lunch. We had a few choices but decided on Sundried Tomato Cafe.

Street parking was at a premium on a summer Saturday so we opted to park in one of the cheaper public parking lots. It was only a few blocks from the restaurant so not bad at all. The restaurant is setup so that there’s outside seating both in the front of the restaurant and on the second floor up to the left. SIL wanted to sit upstairs, which was a good call since there was a nice little breeze. No ocean view since we were a couple of block from the beach but we’ll get plenty of that back at her place.  One of the servers started us off with some bread and sundried tomato butter spread.

Some baguette and olive bread. Both were very nice. I enjoyed the sundried tomato spread on both breads. I’m not a bit olive fan but I did enjoy the olive bread since the olives weren’t overwhelming.

Our very friendly waitress brought menus for use to peruse while we I stuffed my face with bread and spread.

I had looked over the menu before we got there but for some reason, I had a heck of a time choosing something. Turned out that all three of us ordered the Sauteed Seafood Medley. The Mister and SIL also ordered a cup of the Soup of the Day, Butternut Squash and Caramelized Onion. I didn’t realize until after we left that I had forgotten to take a picture of the soup. It was more of a brothy soup rather than a creamy soup, which was what we had kind of expected. The squash wasn’t pureed but rather in smaller pieces. They enjoyed it. We also ordered some Shoestring Pommes Frites with Truffle Oil to share. Almost forgot to take a picture of that too. Here’s what was left of it when I finally remembered. These were really good!

Then our main course was served.

Although the menu said “scallops,” there was only one, but it was a big one and even Gordon Ramsey would have been pleased with how it was cooked. The shrimp certainly was jumbo and two nice pieces of salmon and a seared ahi. All the seafood were cooked well. The risotto was okay but I think the Mister and SIL enjoyed it more than I did. But it didn’t stop me from finishing everything because I was hungry! We decided not to get any dessert since the Mister wanted ice cream. I didn’t see anything that shouted out to me on the dessert menu so I was okay with that. We left happy and full and in search of ice cream.

On a last note before I forget, the food was good but one of the standouts of this meal was the wine SIL selected. The kid did good. We got a bottle of Clifford Bay Sauvignon Blanc. I wasn’t going to have any but decided to try it since it’s not often SIL gets a sauvignon blanc, that’s more my kind of wine. I absolutely loved it! I loved the tropical fruity flavor, which I believe was the guava. It was light and not overly fruity. Great compliment to our main dish. Now I’ll have to go searching for it in SD.

Sundried Tomato Cafe
361 Forest Avenue
Laguna Beach, CA 92651

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sundried Tomato Cafe (Laguna Beach) at CAB Cooks.

meta

