Cali Baguette Express – Mira Mesa

March 17, 2010 § 8 Comments

It’s been a bit hectic lately and with The Mister under the weather, nothing really new as far as meals. There is, however, one place that I’ve been frequenting a lot lately. I’ve been stopping by Cali Baguette Express in Mira Mesa for a few weeks now, usually in the morning on my way to work to grab a sandwich or two for lunch. Sorry I haven’t had time to take any pictures but will do a follow-up with pics.

The Mira Mesa location opened sometime last year. I can’t remember exactly but I recall driving by and noticing that Frankie’s Italian Deli was gone and a “baguette” place with a grand opening banner had opened up in its place. But it wasn’t until earlier this year that I finally dropped by.

This location in Mira Mesa is under the same ownership as the one on El Cajon Blvd. Kirk has written about that location here. The very friendly young lady behind the counter on one of my many visits told me that her brother is running the location on El Cajon Blvd. and she’s running this one. And that her father goes back and forth between the two location.

The young lady suggested that I can call in my orders in the morning if I was in a rush. She even said that I can call as early as 5 am if I’m doing an early day trip! Wow, uh, typically I try not be awake at 5 am. They recently got business cards in, which she gave me in case I wanted to call my orders in ahead of time. Sweet.

I am by no means a Bahn Mi expert but I really enjoy CBE’s sandwiches because of their bread. I actually crave them! They always have fresh bread baking every time I’ve been in there. I’ve seen people pop in just to get baguettes. The prices are very reasonable. Baguette sandwiches are in the $3 range, with the Pork Loaf w/Pate, one of my personal favorites, being only $2.75. Maybe the sandwiches aren’t stuffed to the seams but for the price and size, I think it’s a pretty good deal. They also have other things besides sandwiches (I know, take some pictures of the menu next time…) Oh yeah, the Mister likes their beef stew too.

Cali Baguette Express
9225 Mira Mesa Blvd, #106
San Diego, CA 92126
(858) 695-8888
Open 7 Days: 6:00 am – 9:00 pm

§ 8 Responses to Cali Baguette Express – Mira Mesa

  • Sandy says:

    I keep seeing this place, but haven’t gotten around to stopping. It’s good to know that they bake their own bread and that they’re open early (and until 9pm!).

    • CAB says:

      Hi Sandy! You should give them a try if you like bahn mi. And yeah 9 pm! The young lady told me that sometimes her dad is there even later than that just working and prepping. They sure put in some long hours.

  • kirbie says:

    Oh, I didn’t know that there was one in Mira Mesa. I need to go check it out soon!

  • Kirk says:

    Hey CAB – I still haven’t made it there. I do enjoy the bread from the ECB location. I think it’s superior to the stuff that K makes. Thanks for the mention BTW. And I hope the Mister is feeling better soon, he’s missing all this great weather! ;o)

    • CAB says:

      Hey Kirk! I haven’t made it down to K’s yet and with CBE being so close, I doubt I’d make it down any time soon.

      Thanks, I’ll pass along your sentiments to the Mister. He’s at least glad to get a good break from the rain, me as well.

  • thatssoron says:

    that should come to australia!

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cali Baguette Express – Mira Mesa at CAB Cooks.

meta