Red Snapper with Garlic Sauce

August 5, 2010 § 9 Comments

Here is an easy fish dish from Wei-Chuan Szechwan Style cookbook that will appease garlic lovers (like us!). The original recipe calls for catfish but any white flaky fish can be used. Henry’s had Red Snapper fillets on sale this week so I picked up 2 fillets, about a total of 1.5 lbs. The fillets were skinless. I had to remove some spines from the fillets. Remove any spines. Tweezers come in real handy here.

Ingredients:

 1 1/2 lb Red Snapper
6 garlic cloves, minced
1 scallion or Spring onion, green part julienned, white part sliced diagonally
1/2 Tablespoon cooking wine
1 teaspoon minced ginger
1 cup water
2 Tablespoon soy sauce
2 Tablespoon black vinegar
2 teaspoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
3 Tablespoon cooking oil
1/2 Tablespoon water combined with 1 teaspoon cornstarch
1 Tablespoon sesame oil

Directions:

Rinse the fish and pat dry with paper towels. I cut each fillet in half so they would fit in the wok. It also made it easier to handle the fish.

Heat the wok. Add oil to wok. Stir in garlic and ginger and stir fry for 30 seconds. Add white parts of scallion and fish and stir fry for 1 minute. Turn the fillets over after one minute. Add wine, water, soy sauce, black vinegar, sugar and black pepper. Cover and simmer on low for 10 minutes.

Add cornstarch slurry and stir to combine. Pour sesame seed oil over the fish and sprinkle the green part of the scallions. Serve hot.

Here’s a shot of the fillets. The sauce was delicious over rice. Heck, I could eat a whole bowl of just rice in broth!

§ 9 Responses to Red Snapper with Garlic Sauce

  • mike says:

    Looks great – I’m completely with you on the sauce/rice thing. When the sauce is really nice, I often find myself dragging my rice through it and neglecting the other things on the plate.

    We’ve been eating a lot more fish these days, and I’m looking forward to trying this recipe.

  • CAB says:

    Thanks Mike! We ate the whole thing. Even the Mister went back for seconds on rice and sauce, which he never does. The recipe actually calls for 16 garlic cloves. 16, can you believe it?! After I minced 6 large cloves, I figured any more would be just too overpowering. I hope you and Sherry like it.

  • dennis says:

    Hey CAB, great new banner!
    I really should cook/eat more fish…. But did someone say rice and sauce..(!) *drool :)_
    Scallions and fish sound so great together.

    • CAB says:

      Hi Dennis and thanks! The banner has been up a little while and glad you like it.

      I could have just drank the sauce in this dish. It was garlicky, scallion-y (?), perfect with rice! Yum.

  • mike says:

    Hi Carol – I just made this for dinner and enjoyed it immensely. That sauce is magic!

  • It made me hungry just reading the recipe. Going to try this over the weekend

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Red Snapper with Garlic Sauce at CAB Cooks.

meta