Hong Kong Style Pan Fried Noodles

January 30, 2010 § 7 Comments

Hong Kong style pan fried noodles is a favorite of mine. Love ordering this at restaurants. Even bad versions are tolerable, well, most of the time. My mom used to say that this dish is very easy to make but I just never got around to making it. Until now.

I didn’t have a recipe for HK style but have seen Joyce’s’ version here. What I really liked about her recipe is that she also provides a step-by-step photo instructions. How wonderful is that? Just a note that the recipe and the photo instructions vary slightly. I followed the recipe directions exactly and used shrimp, beef, king oyster mushrooms and bok choy. What’s great with this dish is you can pretty much use whatever you have on hand.

Yes, mom was right. It was easy to make. I added a little too much oyster sauce, which made the sauce a little too salty. But overall, it was really good and I’ll definitely be making this again! Next time, I’m going to make the noodles according to the package instructions (calls for a 10 second dunk in boiling water) and see if there’s a difference in the crunch. The noodles had quite a bit of flour on it and although I shook off most of it, there was still a bit of flour taste to final product. These were the noodles that I used.

Adapted from sugarlens.com

Ingredients:
1 pkg of Hong Kong Style noodles (I used about 4 oz per person)
 6 0z flank steak, sliced thinly against the grain
15-20 shrimps, peeled and deveined
1 king oyster mushroom, sliced thinly
2 stalk bok choy, cleaned and cut
2 cloves garlic, minced
Canola oil (vegetable or peanut oil can be substituted)

Marinade A:
1 tsp corn starch
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp soy sauce
1 tsp oyster sauce
Salt and white pepper to taste

Marinade B:
1 tsp corn starch
1 tsp sesame oil
Salt and white pepper to taste

Sauce:
1 tbsp of oyster sauce
1 tbsp of soy sauce
1 cup water
1 tsp of sugar
1 tsp of xiao-shing (Chinese) cooking wine

Thickener:
1 tbsp of corn starch
2 tbsp of water

I separated each person’s noodles and shook out as much of the flour as possible. I also fluffed it up like Joyce recommended. Postscript: I have since been blanching the noodles for 10 seconds in boiling water to remove the excess flour on the noodles. Once blanched, lay out on paper towels to absorb any excess moisture. I pat the noodles again just before putting them in the pan to fry. The noodles still turn out crunchy without and no more raw flour taste!

Marinate beef with Marinade A. Set aside. 

Marinate shrimps with Marinade B. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, combine the ingredients for Sauce. Set aside.

In a smaller bowl, combine corn starch and water for Thickener. Set aside.

I used a 14″ wok but you can use any large pan. Heat the wok on high heat for about 30 seconds and then added oil. Swirl the oil in the wok. Once the oil just reaches smoking, I added the noodles and turned down the heat to medium-high. If the noodles start burning, remove pan from heat for a few seconds and turn the heat down a bit. Press down lightly with chopsticks or a spatula to help brown the noodles evenly. Add more cooking oil as needed to make suremost of the noodles brown. Plate the noodles on individual plates and set aside. I ended up flipping the noodles and browning on both sides since I like a lot of crunchy noodles.

Add more oil to wok and swirl it around. Add garlic and saute for about a minute. Add shrimp and cook until just done. Don’t overcook since the shrimp will continue to cook when removed from heat. Dish out.

Add oil to wok and cook beef until done. Dish out.

Add oil to wok and cook bok choy and oyster mushroom. Add salt to taste. Cook until done. Add shrimps and beef back to the pan. Stir well. Add the Sauce mixture. Bring it to a boil.

Add thickener and give a quick stir. Bring it to a boil.

Pour gravy on top of the noodles. Serve immediately.

The Mister requested more beef and shrimp next time. I might even add some chicken and make it a Three Treasure noodle dish!

§ 7 Responses to Hong Kong Style Pan Fried Noodles

  • sawyer says:

    first! lol. looks great..man i love noodles. is there a particular brand of cooking wine that you like to use?

    • CAB says:

      Hey Sawyer! To be honest, I just buy what’s ever on sale as far as Chinese cooking wine goes. I don’t know if there’s any kind of rule like some other cuisines (cook with what you would drink). Hmm, maybe I should look that up.

    • Wisefool says:

      Xiao Xing Cooking Wine is fairly Traditional.

  • kirbie says:

    Ooh, this is one of my favorite dishes! Yours looks so pretty. And you make it sound so simple. I want to try making it myself now!

  • CAB says:

    Thanks Kirbie! I really enjoyed this dish and it was pretty straight foward. I just made sure I had everything cut, marinated and ready before I started cooking. Came together pretty fast. Would love to see your take on this dish.

  • Mike says:

    Hiya CAB,

    I just wanted to say that I really appreciated the way you wrote this recipe. I was raised in Hong Kong and have lived there for 35 years on and off and I get so annoyed by English versions of Chow mien as they use the wrong (cheaper / local) ingredients and serve up a soggy gluppy mess of overcooked, soggy fat noodles covered in a sauce which composition I dread to think.
    I have searched the net for years looking for decent recipes (like mine ~ the real thing) and at last I have found yours. I like the methodical way in which you cook the individual components separately then combine them at the end. Your noodles are the way they should be and are done in Hong Kong Die Pie Dongs (street restaurants). The only thing that differs from your recipe, is that I use Dried dong Gu (Black Chinese Mushrooms) or dried Shitake Mushrooms, which I soaked in boiling water for over an hour, squeeze any liquid out of the mushrooms back in the hydrating liquid and then slice them to add with the veg (leaving a few whole for presentation). I reserve the hydrating liquid (from the mushrooms) mixing it into the other ‘sauce’ ingredients, which makes up a large part of the sauce as it adds such a deep flavour to the sauce (as it is done in Hong Kong). Like you I add some cornstarch with COLD water to thicken the sauce and once all the ingredients are mixed together and hot I pour it over the crispy noodles and let the sauce penetrate though to coat the noodles below.
    Trying adding the dong Gu with the liquid and let me know what you think 
    Thanks again for putting your (correct) recipe out there!

    Mike

    • CAB says:

      Hi Mike and thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. I’m rather picky about the kind of noodles I use for this dish because I really don’t care for the thicker noodles. I love the black mushrooms, I think those are the same kind as the wood ear mushrooms. I normally don’t have those in the pantry but I really should. Dried shiitakes are a must tho. I’ve used straw mushrooms too but the Mister isn’t too keen on that as much.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hong Kong Style Pan Fried Noodles at CAB Cooks.

meta