Korean Fried Wings (Dakgangjeong Maangchi’s Way)

June 15, 2014 § 6 Comments

I love fried chicken wings, so much that I can eat it every day. No, really, I think I can truly eat fried chicken wings every day. I’ve been takoyaki’ed out, hell, even bbq”ed out (crazy right?). But I have never said in my life, “Okay, I’m done with wings for a while.” Never. Ever. As a matter of fact, I crave those damn things all the time.

So no surprise that new fried wings recipes are always on the top of my “to try” list. And I think I have more fried wings recipe posts than anything else. The latest wings recipe that’s found a solid, and most likely permanent, place in the recipe binder is Maangchi’s Dakgangjeong recipe. You can check out Maangchi’s website for an instruction video as well as many more delicious Korean recipes.

Let me describe these wings short and sweet. They are like crack-addictive delicious. Can’t get enough, eat ’til your guts bust but you’ll keep eating addictive. That pretty much sums up my feelings about these.

I’ve adjusted the recipe according to my taste. I do like them a little on the spicier side so adjust to your own taste. I like to use Thai chili if I have them with a bit of gochugaru, Korean hot pepper flakes. I found that using ground ginger works better since it’s dry coated. But use sparingly if you’re not too into the ginger taste.

Don’t know what to make for Father’s Day? Try this and it’ll surely be a Happy Father’s Day.”

Adapted from Maangchi Crispy and Crunchy Fried Wings

Ingredients:

  • approx. 3 pounds chicken wings, cut into individual sections, about 24 pieces (no wing tips)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon gochugaru (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger (or 1 teaspoon minced ginger)
  • 2/3 cup corn starch
  • 1/3 cup peanuts (optional)
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced (more if you’re like me)
  • 3 to 4 large dried red chili peppers, seeded, cut crosswise into ⅓ inch pieces (optional, or 1 teaspoon chili flakes)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup corn syrup (or Korean rice syrup)
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon mustard (classic mustard works fine. Can use dry mustard but only use 1/2 teaspoon)
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon sesame seeds (optional)
  • vegetable oil for frying

Directions:

  1. Pat wings dry with paper towels.
  2. Put the chicken in a bowl and mix with salt, ginger, ground black pepper and gochugaru (if using). Rub it all in.
  3. Put corn starch in a bowl and dip each wing in the starch to coat it, one by one. Squeeze each wing to press the coating to it tightly.
  4. Put 4 cups of cooking oil in a frying pan or heavy pot. Heat over high heat until it reaches 350 degrees F. I’ve gone as high as 375 and as low as 335 with no problem. If you don’t have a thermometer, you can test the oil by dipping a test wing into the oil, carefully. If the oil bubbles, it’s hot enough to start frying.
  5. Slide the coated wings one by one into the hot oil and cook for about 10 to 12 minutes, turning over a few times with tongs. I find that the wings cook faster when the pot isn’t crowded.
  6. Take the wings out of the oil and drain for a bit in a strainer. Turn off the heat, and let the wings sit for a few minutes. Make the sauce now (see below).
  7. Reheat the oil and fry the wings again for another 10 minutes until they all look golden brown and feel super crunchy through the tongs. Shorter time for smaller wings.
  8. When the chicken is done, reheat the sauce, if needed, until it bubbles. Remove from heat.
  9. Add the hot chicken and mix well with a wooden spoon to coat. I find doing the coating in a large mixing bowl is easier.
  10. Transfer  to a large platter. Sprinkle  some sesame seeds over top and serve immediately.

For the sauce:

  1. Heat a large non-stick skillet or wok over medium high heat. Add 2 tablespoons cooking oil, minced garlic, and dried red chili pepper.
  2. Stir with a wooden spoon until fragrant for about 30 seconds.
  3. Add soy sauce, rice syrup, vinegar and mustard. Stir with a wooden spoon and let it bubble for a few minutes.
  4. Add the brown sugar and continue stirring. Remove from the heat. Set aside.

§ 6 Responses to Korean Fried Wings (Dakgangjeong Maangchi’s Way)

  • Kirk says:

    Looks great CAB!

  • Ken says:

    Looks great for KFC wings!!!

    I mix ¼ c Frank’s Red Hot Extra Hot with 3 Tbs. of Tabasco Habanero Hot, 1 Tbs. garlic powder, 1 Tbs. cider vinegar, 1 Tbs. unsalted butter and 1 tbs. Crisco oil in a pan till warm. Fry chicken wings in Crisco oil till a nice brown crispy crust forms and remove to drain. Pour out oil and return chicken wings to hot pan. Add hot sauce and toss frying chicken in sauce till all sauce gets sucked into the chicken wings. Plate and serve. These are a lot dryer than your typical Buffalo Wings but they pack a punch!

    • CAB says:

      Hi Ken, I love Frank’s red hot sauce. Used to sauce Buffalo-style wings with it and butter of course, :-D. I pretty much did what you did as far as frying but I just used veggie oil. I should try Crisco since I usually have it around for pie crust and strudel. Funny thing is that I always have the habanero tabasoco sauce too since that is my favorite for over easy eggs. I’ll have to try your recipe the next time the Mister wants Buffalo wings.

  • What a great recipe! Now if I can get over my hatred of frying things (but of course, I love eating fried food!)! My husband would love this. When can we come over?!!!! Haha!

    • CAB says:

      Hi CC! Oh these wings are so delicious! It’s a bit of a pain but man it’s worth it when I’m eating them. Come on over and we’ll cook up a batch.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Korean Fried Wings (Dakgangjeong Maangchi’s Way) at CAB Cooks.

meta