Betty’s Pie Whole

May 21, 2015 § Leave a comment

BPH

We recently stopped by Betty’s Pie Whole for a quick bite to eat. We could have easily stopped by Elizabethan Desserts just a ways up on El Camino Real (both in Encinitas) but we wanted savory pies for lunch. The two are sister shops so we could get some sweet pies too while at Betty’s.

Ah, pies. Delicious pies. Fills me with warmth and giddiness. It also reminds me of Cartman and his infinite wisdom of how little men should deal with women.

Moving on. In a fit of hunger, we ate the Mama Jo’s Meatball Pie and Grandma’s Chicken Pie before I realized I forgotten to take pictures. Like you’ve never done that before. You haven’t? Well then, bite me. We ordered the individual pies which didn’t have the beautiful lattice crusts as the whole pies pictured on their website. However, the individual pies were cute in their own ways and quite filling. We were surprised as to how full we were afterwards.

If you grew up eating Swanson’s frozen chicken pot pie (like me) or Marie Calendar’s pot pie (me also), then Grandma’s pie will be a new experience. The crust is not flaky like the commercial ones but still good and very well seasoned. I enjoyed this variation. The filling was creamy and flavorful, good amount of chunk chicken to go along with the standard carrots and peas. The thing I dislike about almost all chicken pot pies is the underlying crust. More often than not, it’s soggy and can seem like it’s not cooked through completely. Grandma’s Pie was no different in this aspect. Would I get it again? If I was there and in a mood for chicken pot pie, yes.

The Meatball Pie was the star of this lunch. I really do wish I had taken a picture of this one because the top crust had little crispy spikes, almost meringue-like, and there was a delicious seasoning on top of it. The turkey meatballs were tender and went well with the homemade marinara sauce. I had forgotten to tell the Mister that the meatballs were made from turkey. Good thing since he is not fond of ground turkey. Uh, I still haven’t told him but since he said he would definitely order it again, I don’t think he would mind.

Since we were there after the lunch hour, the selection of sweet pies were not as plentiful but they did have a couple of pies that I wanted. We got three individuals to go.: Coconut Cream, Apple Crumbly and the Milky Way. The gal behind the counter stored these aside for us while we ate our savory pie. Good thing because I got the last of all three.

BPH Individual Pies

Individual pies

Clockwise from bottom left: Milky Way, Coconut Cream, Apple Crumbly

 

Betty’s website doesn’t list the Milky Way Pie but you can see the pie description here. The Mister likes Milky Way candy bars so this was his choice. I’m not a cookie crust fan so this one was not my favorite. I found it to be too hard. The chocolate filling and toppings were pretty good though.

The Apple Crumbly was pretty good. The apple slices were on the thicker side and still had some tooth to it, which I like. I didn’t find it overly sweet, which some people have said on their blogs. The crust was decent and had good flavor. The Mister is not a big fan of crumble anything so this was my choice. In hind sight, I really should have gotten the Strawberry Rhubarb Pie instead since I wanted to get pies we’ve never tried before. Next time.

I picked the third pie (coconut cream) for the Mister since he loves coconut cream pies. But what was supposed to be something delectable for him turned into a new love for me. As the meatball pie was the star of lunch, the Coconut Cream Pie was the star of dessert. You don’t have to clean out your ears (or maybe you do, I don’t want to know about anyone’s hygiene issues). But yes! I said the “Coconut” cream pie was the star. For those who don’t know, I’m not a big fan of shredded coconut. Love coconut water. Love coconut cream. Dislike coconut meat and any form of it. So understand just how good this pie had to be in order for me to love it so much.

coconut cream pie

What’s to love? First, the crust is buttery and flaky, one of the lightest crusts I’ve ever had. A perfect crust in my book.

Second, the coconut cream filling is also the lightest cream I’ve ever had. Lightness that I can only dream of achieving in my own cream pies. A bite of this pie just melted in my mouth because it was so light. The Mister did give his “mmmm” approval, no surprise there. but the surprise is me and how much I love this pie. So much that I’ve been thinking about it non-stop since. Yes, non-stop. The Mister would be nodding his head and rolling his eyes. Just yesterday I was asking, “Should I drive up and get a whole pie? Should I? Should I?” Memorial weekend is just a day away, you know. Hmm, they won’t be open for another couple of hours but Elizabethan is open so if I left now………….

P.S. Elizabethan don’t usually carry whole pies, just individual pies.

Betty’s Pie Whole
(located inside Sunshine Gardens under the red roof building)
155 Quail Garden Dr. Encinitas, CA 92024
760-230-6781

Hours:
SUNDAY 10:00 am – 6:00 pm
MONDAY 11:00 am – 8:00 pm
TUESDAY 11:00 am – 8:00 pm
WEDNESDAY 11:00 am – 8:00 pm
THURSDAY 11:00 am – 8:00 pm
FRIDAY 11:00 am – 8:00 pm
SATURDAY 10:00 am – 8:00 pm

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Betty’s Pie Whole at CAB Cooks.

meta

